Skills Summit June 2014 in Toronto, Canada.

I’ve been following the Skills Summit on Twitter. There has been a lot of great conversations and presentations from what I’ve seen. There have been a number of tweets that have made some really valid points. I’ve been retweeting and responding to some of the tweets as well as putting out some of my own. Follow the hashtag #Skillssummit14.

This summit got me thinking about the way the trades are evolving and how discussions are occurring. With social media all around us, you’d think that getting quality conversations on twitter or Facebook would be easy. However, that just doesn’t seem to be the case. With an aging demographic in the trades there doesn’t seem to be as much social media presence from the skilled trades community. Don’t get me wrong, there are still some quality conversations but there aren’t as many of them as I’d hope. I would like to see things like Skills Canada getting even bigger, summits and media on the trades get more air time. You hear about the shortage of tradespersons over the coming decades (even years), but how do you reach the youth of Canada? The answer may just well be Social Media! It’s up to the groups around the skilled trades to showcase our industries.

I think the stigma around trades is getting better. I don’t think we’ll ever get to a point where people look at the trades the same as a business degree. Getting in to a trade doesn’t mean you aren’t smart enough to get a degree. It means you like to be challenged every day, it means you want a secure career in a growing field. Being a tradesperson isn’t just for men either! I’ve seen a number of qualities, smart and talented women in the trades over the last few years. I think the way they’re treated in the work force is getting better and I think it’s only going to get even more common. There are plenty avenues for advancement in the trades also. There are management positions, leadership roles and even the ability to run your own business and be your own boss.

I hope you enjoyed this read and if you have any comments or questions, I’d love to hear them.

Stay safe,

Ryan

Leave a comment