Tool Spotlight: PROTO® ANTIVIBE® Steel Ball Pein Hammers

In my first Tool Spotlight post I’ll be talking about the Proto® Antivibe® Ball Pein Hammer. In my industry test I used the 16 ounce hammer.

PROTO® ANTIVIBE® STEEL BALL PEIN HAMMERS

The Grip

The first thing I noticed is the comfortable grip this hammer has to offer. It fits naturally to the curvature of my hand and doesn’t slip out on even the more, shall we say, beefier of swings. Even with oil on the handle your hand stays pretty well put. The end flares out nicely in case of a little slip, something I feel all hammers need to have.

The Technology

The Antivibe® technology is incredible. I was so impressed with the shock absorption I had to have some of the other guys give it a try! With the amount of fatigue this hammer can save your arms and hands, it can almost replace a 3 pound hammer.

The Test

The first ‘test’ I performed was to hit the fabrication table as hard as I could. We’re talking a 3/4″ steel plate. No vibration. I couldn’t believe just how well the vibration was dampened.

The second test was to bend a 1/4″ piece of 2″ flat bar around a 6″ pipe. This hammer performed very well during this task. It hit it’s mark every time and did the job as expected.

For the final test, I wanted to shape a small piece of 1/8″ plate to add a slight dish. I used the ball pein end and was easily able to give a nice, although rough, dish to the plate.

Conclusion

After a couple of weeks using this hammer I found I was able to use it for heavier applications than possible with most 16 ounce hammers.

The real benefit here is in the handle and the grip. As for the rest of the hammer, it’s on par with most of the other higher end ball pein hammers. Being someone who likes my tools to look good and function well, Proto® has done it again. The signature red and black has always been one of my favourite looks.

The total weight of the 16 ounce is 1.95 pounds. This is in the ballpark of most steel 16 ounce competitors and only slightly heavier than the standard fibreglass handles.

Ranging in price from $40 to $80 at most stores, depending on size, these hammers are in the higher price bracket. However they are worth the investment. Overall, this hammer is fantastic. As an added bonus (for those in the West): The Proto® Antivibe® Steel Ball Pein Hammers are on sale at KMS Tools and Equipment.

Functionality: 4/5

Durability: 5/5

Comfortability: 5/5

Affordability: 3/5

Appearance: 4/5

Overall: 4/5

Please leave any comments on your experience in the comments section. Also feel free to ask any questions. I look forward to hearing from you.

For more information on these hammers click here.

Leave a comment